801 Fouth Street
Ocean City, New Jersey 08262
About U.S. Life Saving Station 30 Museum
This Ocean City station was called Beazeley’s Station until 1883. Rebuilt in 1885-1886, it is the only U.S. Life Saving Service station left in New Jersey that was rebuilt according to the Service’s distinctive 1882-type design. This design is both stunning architecturally, with its gabled roof and lookout tower, and highly effective in the use of space to house both boats and surfmen.
In 1905-06, the station was expanded to add a boat bay, a wrap-around porch, and other improvements. The footprint of the building was doubled, and the structure is the only surviving 1882-type station to be expanded according to the historic New Jersey Pattern.
In 1915, the U.S. Coast Guard absorbed the U.S. Life Saving Service and assumed control of the Ocean City Station. It is the last of the three stations that were located on the island. The others were the Peck’s Beach and Corson’s Inlet Stations.
The Station passed into private hands in 1945.